BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Foothill_Yellow-Legged_Frog_Amy_Lind_USFS_FPWC.jpg

Four California Frog Populations Proposed for Endangered Species Act Protection

SACRAMENTO— In response to a Center for Biological Diversity petition and lawsuit, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today proposed Endangered Species Act protection for four populations of foothill yellow-legged frogs in the Sierra Nevada and central and Southern California. This stream-dwelling frog species has disappeared from more than 50% of its historic habitat in the state.

“At last these little lemon-legged frogs, who are such an integral part of our natural stream ecosystems, have gotten the protection they need to survive,” said Jeff Miller, a senior conservation advocate at the Center. “Protecting these precious creatures will also help safeguard the coastal and Sierra foothill rivers and creeks we all rely on for clean drinking water and recreation.”

The Service has proposed listing foothill yellow-legged frog populations in the Southern Sierra Nevada and Southern California Coast as endangered and the North Feather River and Central California Coast populations as threatened. A population in the Northern Sierra Nevada is not proposed for federal protection but was listed as a state threatened species in 2019.

Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: James Quirk, Media Specialist – jquirk@biologicaldiversity.org, (908) 902-3177
Climate: Nyshie Perkinson, Media Specialist – nperkinson@biologicaldiversity.org, (718) 928-5148
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands:
Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Patrick Sullivan, Media Director – psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Pesticides, Toxics, Air Pollution, Industrial Agriculture and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population and Sustainability: Kim Dinan, Media Specialist – kdinan@biologicaldiversity.org, (513)535-1306
Urban Wildlands, Government Affairs: Wendy Leung, Senior Media Specialist wleung@biologicaldiversity.org, (818) 625-3128

Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of jaguar by Robin Silver, Center for Biological Diversity