BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

RSTiehms_buckwheat_Patrick_Donnelly_Center_for_Biological_Diversity.jpeg

Tiehm’s Buckwheat Moves Toward Endangered Species Act Protections

LAS VEGAS— The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service announced a proposed rule today to list the rare wildflower Tiehm’s buckwheat as endangered under the Endangered Species Act.

The proposed rule comes as a result of litigation by the Center for Biological Diversity, which has worked for three years to protect Tiehm’s buckwheat from an open pit lithium mine.

The Rhyolite Ridge Mine, a project proposed by Ioneer, an Australian mining company, would destroy up to 90% of the global population of Tiehm’s buckwheat. That threat prompted more than 100 scientists and 15 conservation groups to send a letter urging President Biden to protect the plant.

Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: James Quirk, Media Specialist, jquirk@biologicaldiversity.org, (908) 902-3177
Climate: Nyshie Perkinson, Media Specialist, nperkinson@biologicaldiversity.org, (718) 928-5148
Energy Justice, International: Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Pesticides, Toxics, Air Pollution, Industrial Agriculture and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist, aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist, mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Population and Sustainability: Kim Dinan, kdinan@biologicaldiversity.org, (513)535-1306

Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of jaguar by Robin Silver, Center for Biological Diversity