BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

RSEmperorPenguins_GlennGrant_NationalScienceFoundation_FPWC.jpg

Emperor Penguin Proposed for U.S. Endangered Species Protection

WASHINGTON— Following a petition and lawsuit from the Center for Biological Diversity, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today proposed the emperor penguin for protection under the Endangered Species Act. The species is gravely threatened by sea-ice loss driven by the climate emergency.

“These penguins are hard hit by the climate crisis, and the U.S. government is finally recognizing that threat,” said Sarah Uhlemann, international program director at the Center for Biological Diversity. “Penguin scientists have recommended protections for years, and we must act now before climate change wipes out these amazing, iconic birds.”

A 2021 study by leading emperor penguin scientists, climate scientists and policy experts concluded that the emperor penguin should be listed as threatened under the Endangered Species Act because of threats from sea-ice loss.

Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: James Quirk, Media Specialist, jquirk@biologicaldiversity.org, (908) 902-3177
Climate: Nyshie Perkinson, Media Specialist, nperkinson@biologicaldiversity.org, (718) 928-5148
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands:
Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics, Air Pollution, Industrial Agriculture and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population and Sustainability: Kim Dinan, kdinan@biologicaldiversity.org, (513)535-1306

Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of jaguar by Robin Silver, Center for Biological Diversity